Bride’s Shoes Custom

20120416-164148.jpg

I came across a unique wedding idea recently, and I’ve been told that this is an old Armenian custom. While the bride gets dressed, her bridesmaids sign the bottom of her wedding shoes. Much like the familiar custom of tossing the bouquet at the reception, the signature which is best preserved at the end of the night will be the next to marry.
For a variation on this idea, have the bridesmaids sign in blue ink. That would easily take care of “something blue.”

Published in: on April 16, 2012 at 4:49 PM  Comments (10)  
Tags: , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://savannahweddingminister.wordpress.com/2012/04/16/brides-shoes-custom/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

10 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Absolutely LOVE these personal touches!

    • Thanks for your comment. I love the personal touches too. I think the personal touches can sometimes make all the difference between a beautiful wedding and an awesome one that is a cherished memory for both the couple and their guests!

      • You couldn’t be more right-on! I shot a wedding where the couple had personal touches everywhere. Even their cake pops were decorated with their favorite college football team, and others had a tiny little fly to represent fly-fishing (which the groom loved). At a more recent wedding, the bride collected wedding dresses from the mothers/grandmothers and showcased them on manikins. Those personal touches help make the celebration even more special!

      • Thank you. Those are also great personal touches. I love it when a wedding is more about a particular couple and their relationship rather than all the “trappings” that can distract from that.

  2. Now THIS is interesting. I love this idea! Hearing different customs is fantastic.

    I actually have recently heard of one involving rugs. You have a rug that you use at your ceremony, while you say the vows, and keep the rug in your home. If you got a good quality rug, your children use it, etc. I thought it was definitely different. Now to just find one that fits the reception when I am not even 100% set on color scheme, it is quite a difficult task.

    • Wow! I love the rug idea. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Brilliant!

    • I really do think I like this custom too. I love the fact that there can be so many meaningful things at a wedding, and so many of the guests wouldn’t even have any idea. Thanks for you comment!

  4. I love this idea!!!

    • Me too! I would just hope the ink dries so that the bride doesn’t make tracks all through the church. Overall, I believe the personal touches make all the difference. Thanks so much for your comment.


Leave a Reply

