Advice on Choosing a First Dance Song…

This past weekend saw the star-studded funeral of Whitney Houston in New Jersey. With her tragic death came a great deal of attention to her music, her life, her legacy. Radio and television stations devoted airtime to her music. With this increased attention, I had a conversation with a bride. The bride loved Whitney’s rendition of the song, written by Dolly Parton, “I Will Always Love You.” The bride told me that she was considering using the song for her first dance with her new husband at her wedding reception.

Of course, a newlywed couple can do whatever they wish at their wedding reception. I have even seen the “Chicken Dance” done as a first dance! However, I did offer one small bit of advice and a word of caution: Check the lyrics of the song you are considering using!!!

Although a beautiful song, “I Will Always Love You,” may not be the best choice for a first dance. Here are some of the lyrics…

If I should stay, I would only be in your way.
So I’ll go, but I know I’ll think of you ev’ry step of the way.
And I will always love you. I will always love you. You, my darling you. Hmm.

Bittersweet memories that is all I’m taking with me.
So, goodbye. Please, don’t cry. We both know I’m not what you, you need.
And I will always love you. I will always love you.

(Instrumental solo)

I hope life treats you kind And I hope you have all you’ve dreamed of.
And I wish to you, joy and happiness. But above all this, I wish you love.

This beautiful song is a goodbye song, and this probably is not the best choice for a first dance. There are many other beautiful songs out there where the message may be more fitting for the hopes and dreams of the occasion.

And I will always love you. I will always love you. I will always love you. I will always love you. I will always love you. I, I will always love you.
You, darling, I love you. Ooh, I’ll always, I’ll always love you.

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://savannahweddingminister.wordpress.com/2012/02/19/advice-on-choosing-a-first-dance-song/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

