Quick Military Wedding…

Curtis just returned from Iraq last night.  The most important thing to do on his first day home was to marry his best friend, Cary.

The happy couple after their wedding in Whitfield Square, Savannah.

Today I had the honor and privilege to officiate at the wedding of Cary and Curtis.  As hot as it was today (100 degrees), Whitfield Square still provided a shady location for this elopement.  On this special occasion, they were able to be joined by a friend too.  I was impressed that the groom had just returned from Iraq last night.  Welcome home and congratulations to both of you!

In honor of you, and of all our military couples, I include the following poem…

Give me the greatness of heart to see
The difference between duty and his love for me
Give me understanding so that I may know
When duty calls, he must go

Give me a task to do each day
To fill the time while he is away
When is in a foreign land
Keep him safe in your loving hand

When his duty is in the field
Please protect him and be his shield
And when he is gone for so long
Please stay with me and keep me strong”

Source(s):

http://www.cherrypointunderground.com
Published in: on June 21, 2011 at 10:00 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://savannahweddingminister.wordpress.com/2011/06/21/quick-military-wedding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

