Sunrise Wedding

A Perfect Place to Begin a Perfect Day!

Sunrise to a new day

Sunrise, Saturday, June 4, 6:19 a.m.
Doesn’t that sound awful early (especially for a Saturday)?
I wonder if the sun ever wants to “sleep in.”
I dragged myself out of bed early to make it to Tybee Island for a beautiful sunrise beach wedding. My last wedding, the evening before, had been a simple sunset wedding at the same location. On this particular morning, I was able to officiate at the wedding of Paquita and Charlie. They were a delightful couple and family; I was happy, excited, and privileged to be a part of the beginning of their new life together.
Even though I would not exactly describe myself as a “morning person,” even though I am not always happy to leave a dark and comfortable bed before sunrise, once I am fully awake I cannot help but be excited to watch the sun come up over a new day. This is such a beautiful and hope-filled event that occurs every day. It is a daily reminder that each and every day is a GIFT from GOD. It is not promised. It is a gift to us.
We cannot change the past. We are not promised the future. All we have is the present moment. Today is God’s gift to us. That is why we call it the PRESENT.
As a gift, today has opportunities and challenges that will come today and today only.
How will we respond?
A happy and a blessed day to all of you!

Published in: on June 6, 2011 at 1:54 PM  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://savannahweddingminister.wordpress.com/2011/06/06/sunrise-wedding/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

